Home / Match Schedule

Match Schedule

schedule: Match Time Table and Ground Details

The tournament will run from the period between March 8 to April 3.

The ICC World T20 2016 to be held in India was officially launched in Mumbai at an ICC event. At the event the much awaited schedule and fixtures were announced and it was confirmed that India and Pakistan would play each other at Dharamsala on March 19. The first match of the tournament proper will be held at Nagpur between India and New Zealand on March 15. The tournament will be preceded by a preliminary qualification stage which will see six associate teams battle it out with Bangladesh and Zimbabwe for two spots to make it to the tournament proper.

T20 World Cup 2016 Schedule – (08 March-03 April 2016)
Today ICC has announced the 2016 Twenty20 world cup fixtures and groups. The tournament will start with preliminary round on 08th March 2016 and the final will be played on 03 April 2016 in Eden Gardens Kolkata. Below is the full list of fixtures and dates.

First Round: (Group winners qualify for super 10 stage)

Group A: Bangladesh, Ireland, Holland & Oman
Group B: Zimbabwe, Scotland, Afghanistan & Hong Kong

Super 10 Round: (Group winners and runners-up qualify for semifinals)

Super 10 Group 1: South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, England and Qualified B
Super 10 Group 2: India, Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand and Qualified A

ICC World Cup Twenty20 2016 Schedule (Confirmed)
1 Zimbabwe vs Hong Kong 8 March Nagpur
2 Scotland vs Afghanistan 8 March Nagpur
3 Bangladesh vs Holland 9 March Dharamsala
4 Ireland vs Oman 9 March Dharamsala
5 Scotland vs Zimbabwe 10 March Nagpur
6 Hong Kong vs Afghanistan 10 March Nagpur
7 Holland vs Oman 11 March Dharamsala
8 Bangladesh vs Ireland 11 March Dharamsala
9 Zimbabwe vs Afghanistan 12 March Nagpur
10 Scotland vs Hong Kong 12 March Nagpur
11  Ireland vs Holland 13 March Dharamsala
12 Bangladesh vs Oman 13 March Dharamsala
Super 10 Round Starts 
1 India vs New Zealand 15 March Nagpur
2 England vs West Indies  16 March Mumbai
3 Pakistan vs Q1A 16 March Kolkata
4 Sri Lanka vs Q1B 17 March Kolkata
5 Australia vs New Zealand 18 March Dharamsala
6 England vs South Africa 18 March Mumbai
7 Pakistan vs India 19 March Dharamsala
8 South Africa vs Q1B 20 March Mumbai
9 Sri Lanka vs West Indies 20 March Bengaluru
10 Australia vs Q1A 21 March Bengaluru
11 Pakistan vs New Zealand 22 March Mohali
12 England vs Q1B 23 March New Delhi
13 India vs Q1A 23 March Bengaluru
14 Pakistan vs Australia 25 March Mohali
15 South Africa vs West Indies 25 March Nagpur
16 New Zealand vs Q1A 26 March Kolkata
17 England vs Sri Lanka 26 March New Delhi
18 Australia vs India 27 March Mohali
19 West Indies vs Q1B 27 March Nagpur
20 South Africa vs Sri Lanka 28 March New Delhi
Knockout Stages Starts
21 First Semifinal Match  30 March New Delhi
22 Second Semifinal Match 31 March Mumbai
23 The Twenty20 Final 03 April 2016 Eden Gardens, Kolkata

The format of the 2016 World Twenty20 will be same like 2014 world cup. There will be a preliminary group stage from where two groups winners will join other 8 teams in super 8.


T20 World Cup 2016 Format To Be Same Like 2014:

This will be the second time that we will see 16 teams in the world cup, 10 test nations will automaticaly qualify for world cup while there will be 6 teams joining them in the world cup finals through 2015 ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier.

ICC-t20-world-cup-2016-formatThere will be a preliminary group stage of 6 qualified teams and 2 lowest test ranked teams divided into two groups of 4 teams each, group winners will qualify and join other top 8 teams in the super 10 competition (tournament proper).

In Super 10 group stage 10 teams will be divided into 2 groups of 5 teams each with every team playing 4 matches (1 match against every team in the group) where top 2 teams from both groups making it to the semifinals.

ICC World Twenty20 2016 – Qualified Teams:

Top 8 test playing nations will directly qualify for the Super 10 group stages, and two other teams will join them after the provisional group stage which will have 6 ICC associate teams and 2 lowest ranked test nations.